Τhe Republic of Cyprus, through the MoUs it has signed with the donor states (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway), will receive until the end of the current programming period 2014-2021 grants amounting to €11.5 mil. Of these, €6.4 mil. come from the EEA Grants and €5.1 mil. from the Norway Grants, while the Republic of Cyprus will contribute €1.3 mil through co-financing. The projects and actions have started, with the payments' completion horizon set in April 2024. For more details visit the sections "Programmes" and "Projects".

Through the EEA and Norway Grants, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway work closely with partners in 15 EU Member States to help reduce social and economic inequalities and further strengthen bilateral cooperation. The Grants support projects in areas such as environmental protection and management, climate change and renewable energy, justice and home affairs, civil society, culture, decent work, human and social development and CSR. For the current period, a total budget of €2.8 billion has been allocated through the Financial Mechanisms.


The European Economic Area (EEA) was established on the 1st January 1994, following the EEA Agreement which unites the member states of the European Union and the three EFTA (European Free Trade Association) states of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway in the Internal Market. The EEA Financial Mechanism (funding by Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) and the Norway Financial Mechanism (funding by Norway) were created in 2004, through which the three countries contribute to reducing economic and social disparities in the European Economic Area and to the strengthening of bilateral relations with the beneficiary states in Central and Southern Europe. The Norway Grants aim to support in the selected areas the 13 countries that joined the EU after 2004, and the EEA Grants also include, beyond these 13 countries, Portugal and Greece, while funding is distributed among the beneficiary states according to their population and per capita GDP.

For more information on the EEA and Norway Grants visit the donors' website.